Sheldon Creed Wins On Sunday In Costa Mesa


Costa Mesa, Calif. (September 22, 2013) – The finale of the 2013 Sands Sport Super Show would feature round No. 13 of the SPEED Energy Stadium Super Trucks competition along with Stock and Modified Side x Side’s, 450 and Modified Trophy Kart’s all racing on the temporary constructed asphalt/ dirt and sand race course.

Just as the two days prior, Stadium Super Trucks would take to the track for two practice sessions, before the best of 2-laps qualifying session. Justin Lofton continued where he left off the night before laying down the quickest lap of the weekend.

Sunday afternoons final would see a six-car invert with Apdaly Lopez pacing the 18-lap SST final to green. Lopez would lead lap-1 followed by Sheldon Creed and Keegan Kincaid.

Making his third start in SST, Scotty Steele would make contact with the wall coming to the start/finish line ending his return to SST early.

Sheldon Creed of Alpine, Calif., would waste no time moving the No. 74 to the front taking the lead away from Lopez with style grabbing huge air over the West Coast Sand and Gravel Sand pit.

Saturday night’s winner Justin Lofton would encounter problems on Lap-5 taking the No. 6 J6Ink truck to the pit area to repair a flat tire.

After a Lap-6 restart, Robby Gordon would have a hard landing in the sand causing him to roll over and acquire heavy body damage. Cosmetic damage would not hinder Gordon’s race to the front as he would continue to the midst of large cheers from the crowd.

Second running Keegan Kincaid subbing for Championship Points leader Rob MacCachren would make contact with the No. 5 of SST newcomer B.J Baldwin on Lap-14. Both trucks would receive damage from the incident. Baldwin a flat tire while Kincaid’s hood would  ultimately restrict his vision forward.

After receiving a flat tire early in the race, Lofton put on a driving clinic charging through the field on his way to moving into the second position on Lap-16.

Lofton’s quest for a second straight win would run out of time as Creed, would roll to his second SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks win of the season; he was followed to the line by Lofton and third finishing P.J. Jones.

Other feature winners included Mitch Guthrie in Side x Side Mod, Christian Hall in Side x Side Stock, and Brock Heger in Trophy Kart Modified.

Keep up with all the latest news and new race dates of the SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Series by liking the series on Facebook at as well as following on Twitter at All information including where to purchase your tickets for the 2013 season can be found at

SUPER Trucks Unofficial Final (18 Laps): 1. Sheldon Creed; 2. Justin Lofton; 3. P.J. Jones; 4. Robby Gordon; 5. Keegan Kincaid; 6. Greg Foster; 7. Mike Jenkins; 8. Brock Heger; 9. B.J. Baldwin; 10. Apdaly Lopez; 11. Craig Potts; 12. Scotty Steele.

Side x Side Modified (8 Laps): 1. Mitch Guthrie; 2. Keenam Rogerson.

Side x Side Stock (10 Laps): 1. Christian Hall; 2. Scotty Struiksma; 3. Steve Wheels; 4. Clint Almquist 5. Johnny Struiksma.

Trophy Kart Modified (10 Laps): 1. Brock Heger; 2. Broc Dickerson; 3. Parker Steele; 4. Scotty Steele; 5. Brooke Kawell.

Sunday Sand Sports Super Show SST Race Results