CHARLOTTE, N.C. (December 11, 2013) – Robby Gordon’s Stadium Super Trucks (SST) series has been selected by ESPN to join the complement of sports at the upcoming X Games Austin event, taking place in Texas on June 8, 2014 at Circuit of the Americas.

Influenced by the former Mickey Thompson Stadium Off-Road Racing Series, where drivers such as Gordon, Casey Mears and six-time NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson got their start, Gordon created SST in response to the public’s overwhelming interest in trucks and off-road racing. His plan to redevelop the former stadium series has led to exciting racing on both asphalt and dirt, while producing one of the most extreme forms of action motorsport today.

“We’re thrilled to have Robby Gordon’s Stadium Super Truck Series join the complement of sports at X Games Austin,” said Tim Reed, senior director of content strategy. “We look forward to working with the Stadium Super Truck team, and showcasing to ESPN X Games audiences around the world a very entertaining form of truck racing.”

Other than the trucks launching more than 20 feet in the air covering distances more than 150 feet under race conditions, what sets the SST program apart from other series is the fact that all the SST trucks are identically prepared and delivered to drivers in race-ready condition. Races are decided by driver skill alone rather than individual team engineering and budgets. Drivers and their personal mechanics are assigned specific SST technicians who together tune and make minor adjustments to the 600-HP trucks.

“It is a great honor to have been chosen by ESPN to bring Stadium Super Trucks to the X Games,” Gordon said. “The X Games are the premier action-sport property in the world, and this is a testament to the fact that SST is the most extreme four-wheel motorsport on earth. Circuit of the Americas in Texas will be a great venue to showcase SST to the X Games audiences.”

The X Games will be one of 15 rounds currently scheduled for the 2014 SST season. Following the successful inaugural season of the Stadium Super Trucks, the 2014 SST schedule features 10 race venues, all within North America’s top-50 markets, including six venues within the top-15.

In 2013, the season championship came down to the last race, ending with a points difference from first to second of only seven points (a total of three points paying positions on track for the season). This is a testament to how competitive and equal the trucks really are. P.J. Jones won his first SST race at the season-ending event at Caesars Palace on the Las Vegas Strip. Other race winners in the first SST season included McCachren (4 wins), Gordon (3), Lofton (3), Sheldon Creed (2) and Jerrett Brooks (1). In 14 rounds of competition, 27 world-class drivers took part in the series, including popular drivers Paul Tracy, Davey Hamilton, Kyle LeDuc, Arie Luyendyk Jr., Jeff Ward, Mike Jenkins and Ricky Johnson.

Keep up with all the latest news and new race dates of the SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Series by liking the series on Facebook at as well as following on Twitter at

All information including where to purchase your tickets for the 2014 season can be found at as each specific event is announced.