San Diego CA (May 8, 2013) – USA Pro Supermoto is pleased to announce a new partnership between USA Pro SUPERMoto and SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Series (SST) to hold pro SUPERMoto racing events together for the remainder of the 2013 race season. Stadium SUPER Trucks (SST) will begin featuring USA Pro SUPERMoto racing action at select Stadium SUPER Trucks events this summer starting with the SST event at Qualcomm Stadium on May 18th. For this first event, USA Pro SUPERMoto will be holding an exhibition race on the stadium floor of Qualcomm Stadium during the 5th round of the Stadium SUPER Trucks Series on May 18th. This USAPSM event, hosted by Robby Gordon OFF-ROAD, will include a USA Pro SUPERMoto Invitational race featuring some of the top pro supermoto riders in the country. The list of racers in attendance will include; Las Vegas’s Derek Costella, Riverside’s Dustin Hoffman, Denver’s Tim Velasquez, and Newport Beach’s own Brandon Ward. Brandon’s father Jeff Ward, a former AMA SUPERMoto Champion himself, will also be in attendance piloting the No.4 Truck in the SST class.

SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks is modeled after Mickey Thompson’s Off-Road Race Series from the 1990’s, and features stadium racing inside large stadium venues like the L.A. Coliseum, the Metro Dome, Qualcomm Stadium, Georgia Dome and more. SST features modern day race courses constructed of both asphalt road course sections and high flying dirt obstacles. This program is what provided the perfect layout to bring and feature USA Pro SUPERMoto racing. The action-packed event which is anticipating over 20,000 spectators will feature a fan expo during the day, a party in the pits, followed by BIGFOOT® Monster Truck racing, SUPER Trophy Karts, SUPER Buggy, SUPERMoto and the Stadium SUPER Trucks to cap off an exciting evening of high-flying racing action. USA Pro SUPERMoto looks forward to the partnership and will have more info on upcoming USA Pro SUPERMoto/SST combined events in the very near future.

For more info on USA Pro SUPERMoto please visit

SST Championship Trophy to be Named After Mickey Thompson

Charlotte, N.C. (April 15, 2013) – Robby Gordon OFF-ROAD officials are honored to announce that the 2013 SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Champion will be the recipient of the Inaugural Mickey Thompson Championship Trophy, named in honor of the late championship racer, innovator, and promoter, Mickey Thompson.

Born December 7, 1928, in San Fernando, Calif., Thompson was an integral player in the West Coast drag-racing scene of the 1950’s. His most notable achievement during this time was the creation of the first slingshot dragster in 1954.

However, it was during Mickey’s time managing the Lion Drag Strip near Long Beach, Calif., he created some of the most innovative improvements in racing safety. The development of the ‘Christmas Tree’ starting lights that are implemented throughout drag racing today, took the human starter out of the equation. During the same period, it was Mickey’s idea to fill barrels with water to help absorb a car’s energy during a crash; the same safety technique is now used in Stadium SUPER Trucks competition years later.

As a championship driver, Thompson set more speed and endurance records than any other driver in automotive history. A 2007 Automobile Quarterly article estimated that Thompson participated in more than 10,000 races, drove more than 1 million race miles, and set nearly 500 speed and endurance records, including 295 records at the famous Bonneville Salt Flats in Utah.

Though it was his love for off-road racing that led Thompson to found SCORE International in 1973, a sanctioning body to oversee endurance off-road racing throughout North America. Thompson continuously said that the only ones to enjoy this form of magnificent racing were “Nothing but cactus, and jackrabbits.” He wanted to bring the excitement of desert racing to a wider audience.

In 1979, Mickey and wife Trudy formed Mickey Thompson Entertainment Group (MTEG) an indoor motocross and off-road vehicle racing show and competition. The goal was to take the sport from back-country terrain to stadiums in heavily populated metropolitan areas. Beginning with the first stadium event at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, MTEG was able to bring off-road racing to the masses, giving city fans a taste of the ultra competitive racing throughout the Baja 1000.

As a competitor and innovator, Thompson lived his life in the fast lane and gained thousands of fans and admirers. His memory continues to inspire drivers and promoters around the world today. As it most recently inspired Orange, Calif., native Robby Gordon, in the rebirth of Mickey’s vision bringing back off-road racing to city fans in stadiums around North America. In 2013, those visions became reality as Stadium SUPER Trucks Inaugural event was held on April 6 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz.

Stadium SUPER Trucks Founder and President Robby Gordon stated;

“There was no other name more fitting for the Stadium SUPER Trucks Championship Trophy than to name it in honor of the late Mickey Thompson. What we are doing was Mickey’s vision back in the day of bringing off-road to the masses, people are able enjoy a fun night of racing and entertainment while being in some of the finest facilities throughout North America.”

The winner of the SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Championship will hold possession of the Mickey Thompson Championship Trophy for exactly one year. At that point it will be returned to series officials to award to the following years champion.

SPEED Energy SST Championship Point Standings after Round 1:

Updated 4/18/13

After Round 1 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz. the 2013 SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Championship Point Standings have been calculated and to no surprise Rob MacCachren, of Las Vegas, Nev., driving the Traxxas #21 has jumped out to a comfortable early lead over second place Robby Gordon and third place Justin Matney of Bristol, Va.

1. Rob MacCachren 42

2. Robby Gordon 33

3. Justin Matney 29

4. Greg Adler 27

5. PJ Jones 24

6. Justin Lofton 23

7. Arie Luyendyk Jr. 22

T- 8. Nick Baumgartner 19

T- 8. Mike Jenkins 19

T- 8. Jeff Ward 19

11. Lalo Laguna 18

12. Austin Kimbrell 14

The Inaugural season of SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks continues Sunday afternoon, April 21, in Long Beach, Calif. at the historic Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach. SST’s will run the same street course as the IndyCar Series, hitting metal ramps and flying 120 feet down the straight away.

Tickets to see the SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks at the Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach are available for purchase online at

Keep up with all the latest news and results on SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks by liking the series on Facebook at as well as following on Twitter at All information including where to purchase your tickets for the 2013 season can be found at