Disappointment to Victory, Lofton Wins Round No. 12

Costa Mesa, Calif. (September 21, 2013) – As the second day of the 2013 Sand Sport Super Show closed, right next door the Stadium SUPER Trucks would take to the track for a wild night of practice, qualifying, and main events in SST, USA Pro SuperMoto, Side x Side Mod, Side x Side Stock, and Trophy Kart 450.

After multiple practice sessions, the Stadium SUPER Trucks took to the track for the best of 2-laps qualifying session. Robby Gordon continued where he left off the night before laying down the quickest lap of the session with a 58.372.

Saturday night’s final would see a six-car invert and for the second night in a row Mike Jenkins of Plano, Texas, would pace the 15-lap SST final to green. Apdaly Lopez would race out to the early lead before Jenkins would enter the second turn too fast resulting in a complete roll over.

Lopez would lead the first three laps, before fourth starting Justin Lofton would take over the lead entering the dirt stadium portion of the racecourse. Lopez would get loose coming to the start/finish line loosing a tremendous amount of ground to the sixth starting Robby Gordon.

With Lofton out to a commanding lead, Lopez would spin in the big sweeping corner allowing Gordon to drive past into second place.

In a repeat of the night before Gordon and Lofton would remain the class of the field racing away after a Lap-6 caution. The hard charging Lofton would hit his marks corner after corner showing the No. 7 around the tricky racecourse. Lap-10 would see Gordon cut into the lead of Lofton, but a small bobble would allow Lofton to pull away.

The Southern California native would go on to capture his third SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks win of the season; he was followed to the finish by second place Robby Gordon and third finishing Apdaly Lopez.

Other feature winners included Robert Vambercum in Side x Side Mod, Keenam Rogerson in Side x Side Stock, and D. J. Noerr in Trophy Kart 450.

SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Round No. 13 at the 2013 Sand Sports Super Show will begin at 12PM with SST qualifying, followed by Trophy Kart qualifying, Stock and Modified Side x Side qualifying, followed by finals in all classes.

Tickets to SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks at the 2013 Sand Sports Super Show start at just $25 for adults with kid’s 12 & under FREE with a purchased adult ticket at the fair box office, combo tickets to both SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks and the Sand Sports Super Show are also available for $30 at the fair office or through Ticketmaster at ticketmaster.com or by calling 800-745-3000.

Keep up with all the latest news and results on SPEED Energy Stadium SUPER Trucks Series by liking the series on Facebook at http://facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks as well as following on Twitter at http://twitter.com/SSuperTrucks. All information including where to purchase your tickets for the 2013 season can be found at https://stadiumsupertrucks.com.

Stadium SUPER Trucks Unofficial Final (15 Laps): 1. Justin Lofton; 2. Robby Gordon; 3. Apdaly Lopez; 4. Keegan Kincaid; 5. P.J. Jones; 6. Mike Jenkins; 7. Rino Navera; 8. Greg Foster; 9. Craig Potts.

Side x Side Mod (10 Laps): 1. Robert Vambercum; 2. Pablo Veglia; 3. Niko Skiparnras; 4. Martin Phillip; 5. Mitch Guthrie; 6. Sean Cook; 7. Bret Jenkins; 8. Todd Stevensonl; 9. Brian Bush.

Side x Side Stock (10 Laps): 1. Keenam Rogerson; 2. Steve Wheels; 3. R.J. DeWitt; 4. Christian Hall; 5. Clint Almquist.

Trophy Kart 450 (10 Laps): 1. D. J. Noerr; 2. Mike Jenkins; 3. Joe Davidson; 4. David Nevrotski; 5. Pam Hall.